Allocating a Sales Order Line Item
Allocation is the action of reserving available quantities of inventory items for a particular sales order line item, ensuring that the stock is held.
There are two ways you can allocate a sales order line item:
- From the sales order line item's detail page:
- Click Allocate. The Allocate Sales Order Line Item window opens.
- Select an inventory position and enter a quantity to allocate.
- Click Allocate.
- From the Sales Order Line Items grid on the sales order's record page:
- Select the line you want to allocate.
- Click Allocate Line. The Allocate Sales Order Line Item window opens.
- Select an inventory position and enter a quantity to allocate.
- Click Allocate.
The sales order line item status changes to "Allocated" when the total pending quantity is allocated. If the pending quantity isn't fully allocated, the sales order line item status changes to "Partially Allocated".
Summary Cards
When the Allocate Sales Order Line Item window opens, a section with six summary cards is displayed at the top of the page. They contain the following information related to the line item:
| Summary Card | What It Shows | Source | Behavior |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sales Order Line | The identifier of the line being allocated | Item Number ID field on the line | Static |
| Item | The name of item on the line | Item Master field on the line | |
| Stocking Unit of Measure | The stocking unit of measure for the item | Unit of Measure field on the line | |
| Quantity | The total quantity ordered on the line | Quantity field on the line | |
| Quantity Already Allocated | How much of the line's quantity has already been allocated by prior actions | Quantity Allocated field on the line | Updates when the window opens. |
| Remaining Quantity to Allocate | How much of the line's quantity still needs to be allocated, updated live in the grid | Quantity - Quantity Allocated fields on the line | Live |
Filters
When the Allocate Sales Order Line Item window opens, you can use the Filter panel to narrow down the inventory positions displayed in the grid. To open the panel, click
next to the search bar.
The following table contains reference information about each filter.
| Filter Field | What it Filters | Default or Inherited Value | Editable? |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICP | Inventory positions belonging to the selected ICP (inventory control points) | If the sales order has a warehouse defined, this field is populated with the warehouse's ICP. | Not editable if the value is inherited. |
| Warehouse | Inventory positions belonging to the selected warehouses | If the sales order has a warehouse defined, this field is populated with that warehouse. | |
| Inventory Location | Inventory positions stored in the selected locations | None. The available locations depend on the selected warehouses. If no warehouse is selected, all locations are available. | Yes |
| Availability Code | Inventory positions with the selected availability status | In Stock | |
| Condition | Inventory positions with the selected item condition | If the sales order line item has a condition defined, this field is populated with that condition. | Not editable if the value is inherited. |
| Ownership Code | Inventory positions with the selected ownership | If the sales order has an ownership defined, this field is populated with that ownership. |
You can use the following buttons within the Filter panel:
- Apply to refresh the grid with your selections.
- Clear to remove user-entered values.
- Reset to restore the inherited default values.
- Some filter fields are automatically populated based on the details from the sales order and the sales order line item. These pre-populated fields are read-only because they reflect constraints already set on the order.
- Within a single filter field, the system matches any of the selected values. Across different filter fields, all conditions must be met, so the grid only displays the inventory positions that match all the active filters when you click Apply.
- Read-only filter fields keep their inherited values when you click Clear. Only editable filter fields are reset.
SECTIONS