Editing, Deleting, and Recalling Timecards in Timesheet Entry

Timesheet Entry enables you to submit time against multiple projects, assignments, milestones, and project tasks. You can also view and add daily notes with details such as the location for off-site visits or meetings, as well as edit, recall, save, and submit your timecards for approval.

Editing Records

You can amend the time entered on timecards by using Increase to increase the hours, or Down to decrease the hours. You can also click the cell and directly type the amount of hours. Click Save to save your changes.

You can open a timecard in Timesheet Entry by clicking Open in Timesheet Entry on the Timecard record page.

To change the project or assignment entered on your saved timecard, click Change Project or Change Assignment as required from the toolbar or contextual menu in Timesheet Entry. This opens the Change Project or Change Assignment window, enabling you to make the required changes.

Note:

You must be assigned permission to change the project or assignment associated with your timecard. Contact your administrator for more information.

If your administrator has enabled it, you can also adjust timecards after they are approved. To do this, click Adjust Timecard on the timecard record page. To view the adjustments made to timecards, go to the Timecard Adjustments related list on the timecard record page. For more information, see Timecard Adjustments.

Timecards adjusted after approval are overwritten with a new timecard, which is displayed in the timecard adjustments related list. Adjustments also cancel the existing timecard, and sets the Included in Financials field to false.

Canceled timecards are not displayed in Timesheet Entry. The new timecard is displayed instead in the Timesheet Entry grid. These adjustments are reflected on the timecard adjustment record, displaying a link to the old timecard and the new timecard, once it is saved in Timesheet Entry.

Notes:
  • To adjust timecards after approval, you must be assigned permission for the Assignment Project Editable After Save field, contained in the Timecard Entry UI Personal custom setting.
  • It is possible to pre-populate project tasks and the milestone associated with a new project or assignment on the timecard after adjustment. Contact your administrator for more information.
  • If project tasks you expect to see are not displaying after changing the project or assignment on your timecard, contact your administrator for more information.

Deleting Records

To delete records such as projects, assignments, and project tasks from your timecard, you can either:

  • Select the records and click Delete in the toolbar.
  • Click Down at the end of the timecard row and select Delete.
  • Right-click the cell containing your project or assignment in the Work column, and select Delete from the right-click menu.

In the Delete Records window, click Delete to confirm. The records from your timecard are now deleted.

Note:

Delete on the action arrow and right-click menu is only available on records that have not been submitted.

Recalling Timecards

To recall a timecard, you can either:

  • Select the timecards you want to recall and click Recall in the toolbar.
  • Click Down at the end of the timecard row and select Recall.
  • Right-click the cell containing your project or assignment in the Work column, and select Recall from the right-click menu.
Note:

Recalling timecards is only possible on timecards with a status of Submitted. Project tasks cannot be recalled separately to timecards.

Duplicating a Timecard Line

You can duplicate a timecard line to quickly reuse its work context when entering time for similar work. To duplicate a timecard line, do one of the following:

  • Click Down at the end of the timecard row and select Duplicate Work.
  • Right-click the cell containing your project or assignment in the Work column, and select Duplicate Work from the right-click menu.

A new timecard line is added at the bottom of your timesheet in an unsaved state, with the same work context as the original line, such as the project and assignment. Enter your hours and any other details, then save your timecard.

Note:

If your administrator has configured Timesheet Entry to add milestones and project tasks automatically when you enter work, they are also added to the duplicated line.